About us


Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission of UNESCO

IOC was created in 1960 to promote international cooperation and coordinate programmes in research, sustainable development, protection of the marine environment, capacity-building for improved management, and decision-making. It assists developing countries in strengthening their institutions to obtain self-driven sustainability in marine sciences.

Within the Section on Marine Policy and Regional Coordination, the objectives of the IOC Integrated Coastal Area Management (ICAM)Programme are to address coastal zone problems through activities of a more cooperative, coordinated and interdisciplinary nature, and ensure good coordination among existing IOC efforts related to the coastal zone. This programme also aims to provide a mechanism to promote interaction between IOC programmes related to ICAM and those of other international organisations, between marine natural scientists and social scientists, as well as between scientists and coastal managers and policy-makers.

iode logo large

The IOC's International Oceanographic Data and Information Exchange (IODE) was established in 1961 to enhance marine research, exploitation and development by facilitating the exchange of oceanographic data and information between participating Member States and by meeting the needs of users for data and information products. IODE is also financing the SPINCAM Virtual Office. 

ODINCARSA was set up primarily as a mechanism for assessing the current and potential state of development of national data centers and to create the means for mutual capacity building in South America and the Caribbean. It further sought to develop a cooperation network for managing and exchanging oceanographic data and information within these regions. ODINCARSA is a network which is integrated by 19 IOC Member States: Argentina, Bahamas,  Barbados, Belize,  Brazil, Colombia, Chile, Cuba,  Dominica, Ecuador, Haiti, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua,  Panama, Peru, Saint Lucia,  Trinidad and Tobago and Venezuela.



South Pacific Commission (CPPS)

 CPPS is the regional agency to coordinate appropriate maritime policies of its Member States:Chile, Colombia, Ecuador and Perú.  On 18 August 1952 born, with the  “Declaration on the Maritime Zone " subscribed at Santiago by the Governments of Chile, Ecuador and Peru.  On 9 August 1979, Colombia joins the System.  The CPPS liaison with governments is by means of the National Sections, bodies of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of each member country.



The Government of Flanders (Kingdom of Belgium) 

 This project is funded by the Government of Flanders through the UNESCO/Flanders Funds-in-Trust for the Support of UNESCO's activities in the field of Science.